Finnish Catalysis Society which was founded 1988 is one of the divisions of the Association of Finnish Chemical Societies. Today (2021),The Catalysis Society has approximately 150 members and some company members. The aim of the society is to spread information about catalysis, to organise meetings and conferences and to act as a link between people, who are professionally active in the field of catalysis.

The Society has an annual meeting and it organises an annual seminar, where a hot topic in catalysis is presented and discussed. The Society takes part in the activities of Nordic Catalysis Society and European Federation for Catalysis (EFCATS). Every eighth year, the Society organises Nordic Symposium on Catalysis on Finnish soil. The latest symposium was held in Copenhagen, Denmark (2018). The next one will be arranged in Espoo, Finland (June 2022, link: 19NSC).

The annual meeting elects a board to the Society. In 2021 the chairperson of the board of the Finnish Catalysis Society is Docent Mika Huuhtanen (University of Oulu).

Professor Dmitry Murzin (Åbo Akademi University)
and Docent Mika Huuhtanen (University of Oulu) are the Finnish representatives in EFCATS. The Finnish representatives in the Nordic Society of Catalysis are Docent Satu Ojala (University of Oulu) and Professor Riikka Puurunen (Aalto).

The Society publishes a membership letter (KATSE) about two times per year. The Society supports the participation in international conferences (Nordic Symposium on Catalysis, EUROPACAT, International Congress on Catalysis) by giving travel grants to the members. In addition, every three years a reward for an outsanding Ph.D. thesis in the field of catalysis is granted.

To become a member of the Finnish Catalysis Society, please complete the membership application.The annual membership fee is 15 euros. Alternatively, there is a possibility to pay 150 euros for becoming a lifetime member. For industrial enterprises the annual fee is 250 euros.

Welcome to join us !

The Board of Finnish Catalysis Society